Discovered a large number of pprof files under the TiDB user

Note:
This topic has been translated from a Chinese forum by GPT and might contain errors.

Original topic: tidb用户下发现大量pprof文件

| username: zhanggame1

[TiDB Usage Environment] Production Environment / Testing / PoC
[TiDB Version] 7.5
[Reproduction Path] What operations were performed that caused the issue
[Encountered Issue: Issue Phenomenon and Impact]
The tidb user on this machine has deployed tiup and monitoring. There is a jeporf directory under /home/tidb/ with a large number of files. What is it used for, and can it be deleted?

| username: Daniel-W | Original post link

Run jeprof to generate the Heap Profile.

| username: Daniel-W | Original post link

Is it generated by TiDB 7.5.0 Release Notes | PingCAP Documentation Center :shushing_face:

| username: 像风一样的男子 | Original post link

The 7.5 dashboard will be automatically generated.

| username: zhanggame1 | Original post link

Can the file be deleted?

| username: 像风一样的男子 | Original post link

Sure.

| username: zhanggame1 | Original post link

This is too much, it’s even troublesome to delete. Can this feature be turned off?

| username: tidb狂热爱好者 | Original post link

You can delete it.

| username: 像风一样的男子 | Original post link

Back then, someone requested to make this automatically generated and added to the dashboard.

| username: 像风一样的男子 | Original post link

These are commands from the previous 6.1 version. You can try them out:

curl http://127.0.0.1:20180/debug/pprof/heap_activate?interval=10
curl http://127.0.0.1:20180/debug/pprof/heap_list
curl http://127.0.0.1:20180/debug/pprof/heap_deactivate

The first command activates heap collection, collecting data every 10 seconds.
The second command lists the generated heap files.
The third command deactivates heap collection.

| username: zhanggame1 | Original post link

Thank you, I turned it off using the third command.

| username: dba远航 | Original post link

It can be deleted.

| username: system | Original post link

This topic was automatically closed 60 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.