Does a unique index require a table lookup?

Note:
This topic has been translated from a Chinese forum by GPT and might contain errors.

Original topic: 唯一索引需要回表吗

| username: Trouble

I am a beginner and have some questions about unique indexes.
As shown in the picture:

id is the primary key, age is the unique key; at this time, if age is used as the filter condition, does the kernel need to go back to the table?
My understanding is: the projection fields are all, and the unique key cannot obtain all the data, so TiDBserver needs to first go to TiKV to get the rowid corresponding to the unique key. After TiDBserver gets the rowid, it then goes to TiKV to get all the data.
Is this understanding correct?
If this is the case, why is the execution plan Point_Get? Does Point_Get mean there is no need to go back to the table?

| username: Billmay表妹 | Original post link

If id is the primary key and age is a unique key, and you use age as a filter condition, TiDB’s execution plan might use Point_Get.

Point_Get is a query optimization strategy that can directly retrieve the required data from the index without performing a table lookup. In this case, TiDB might use the unique key index of age to locate the row that meets the condition and directly retrieve the required data from the index without performing a table lookup.

Specifically, TiDB might execute the query using the following steps:

1. Locate the index position of the row that meets the condition based on the unique key index of age.
  2. Retrieve the required data from the index, including the primary key id and other projection fields.
  3. Return the query result without performing a table lookup.

It should be noted that the specific choice of the execution plan depends on multiple factors, including the structure of the table, the choice of indexes, data distribution, etc. Therefore, the actual execution plan may vary depending on the specific situation.