In storage, does the Scheduler convert data into a snapshot first when writing data?

Note:
This topic has been translated from a Chinese forum by GPT and might contain errors.

Original topic: storage中,Scheduler 在实现数据写时,是先将数据转换成快照么

| username: Lystorm

When reading the TiKV source code documentation (TiKV 源码解析系列文章(十一)Storage - 事务控制层 | PingCAP), there is a piece of logic in the article explaining the storage part.

Does the request directly request snapshot information after reaching storage and obtaining the latch? This part is not very clear.
After reading the scheduler part of the source code, it seems that after receiving the request, it first establishes the key, obtains the value, and then converts the data into a snapshot structure?

This is my first attempt to read the TiKV source code, and I am not very clear about the overall structure. Seeking help for clarification.

| username: TiDBer_jYQINSnf | Original post link

Prewrite involves acquiring locks, right? The locks in RocksDB are the data in the lock column family. This means it needs to read from RocksDB.

This reading is done using a snapshot.

After obtaining a snapshot, subsequent reads of the term and lock use this snapshot. Then, the prewrite data is organized and written down.

This is my personal understanding. If there are any mistakes, experts are welcome to correct me. :blush:

| username: pingyu | Original post link

SCHED_STAGE_COUNTER_VEC.get(tag).snapshot_ok.inc() is a metric statistic corresponding to snapshot_ok in Scheduler stage total in the Scheduler. The tag here is the request’s tag (for example, the tag for a prewrite request is “prewrite”), and it is not the key of the data.

The term in let term = snapshot.ext().get_term() is the term in Raft, which is obtained and stored in task.cmd.ctx. This term will be used later to check if a leader transfer has occurred, for example here (although I’m not very familiar with this part, it seems to be related to memory pessimistic locks).