Performance Benchmark Comparison of TiDB/PolarDB/TDSQL-C/GaiaDB

Note:
This topic has been translated from a Chinese forum by GPT and might contain errors.

Original topic: TiDB/PolarDB/TDSQL-C/GaiaDB性能压测对比

| username: 我是吉米哥

[TiDB Usage Environment] Production Environment / Testing / PoC
[TiDB Version]

I saw a database test report online, and the conclusion is that TiDB is weaker compared to the other three.
Overall performance ranking: Alibaba Cloud > Baidu Intelligent Cloud > Tencent Cloud > TiDB

Logically, TiDB should perform better in batch inserts (LSM-Tree sequential IO) and point query scenarios (PointGet).

I am a TiDB newbie, could experienced users please explain this? Thank you.

Original article link:

| username: dba-kit | Original post link

With this amount of data, a standalone machine will definitely run faster. The latency is very small for this amount of data, and for a distributed database like TiDB that separates storage and computation, the network latency will take up a significant portion.

| username: ShawnYan | Original post link

Practice leads to true knowledge. I suggest trying TiDB yourself first to get more familiar with it, and then look at the reviews.

TiDB is suitable for high-concurrency OLTP scenarios. It becomes a more appropriate choice when your business encounters single-machine bottlenecks. For small data volume tests, MySQL or so-called cloud-native databases based on MySQL will definitely perform better than TiDB.